Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Guides

Evidence-led guide

eSIM hotspot and tethering rules, by provider

A café with long tables and a city skyline through tall windows
City café · Photo: Sung Jin Cho / Unsplash

Most travel eSIMs allow tethering. That is not the useful question. The useful questions are how much tethering you get, whether it comes out of the same allowance as your phone, and whether the hotspot needs setting up by hand before it will work at all.

Last reviewed 26 August 2026Every figure links to the provider page it came from

Where tethered data comes from

Already know you need to tether? Check provider options.

Planning a Japan trip? Compare Japan eSIM options using the same network, data, validity and hotspot questions before you choose.

  1. Shared allowance. Hotspot traffic counts against the same daily allowance as the phone.
  2. Separate cap. A smaller hotspot allowance of its own, on top of the main one.
  3. Not published. The provider states that hotspot use is limited without giving a number.
Three ways a plan can treat tethering. What each provider NexKit checked actually publishes is in the table below.

Published tethering policy

“Hotspot supported” on a comparison table can mean unlimited sharing on the main allowance, or a small separate daily cap. Those are very different products.

Is tethering allowed, and on what allowance?

Airalo

  • Tethering allowed
  • Shares the main allowance rather than a separate cap
  • Hotspot traffic counts against the same daily high-speed allowance. No separate tethering cap and no stated device limit.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Pages we checked (3)

The allowance tethering draws from

Airalo

  • 3 GB/day at full speed
  • Then up to 1 Mbps
  • Resets daily
  • The daily allowance resets 24 hours from the time the eSIM was activated, not at local midnight.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Pages we checked (3)

Caveats the providers publish

These are the providers’ own statements, not our interpretation.

Airalo

  • Some eSIMs require the APN to be entered manually before the personal hotspot will work.

Applies to: Airalo eSIMs where the help centre states manual APN entry may be required

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Yes, you can use your personal hotspot with your eSIM as long as it is supported by your device and the network.”

Holafly

  • The Terms and Conditions reserve the right to restrict data usage or speed if usage is judged excessive, without stating a threshold.

Applies to: Holafly Terms and Conditions as published

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“data coverage and speed may be subject to a network service provider's fair use policy”
  • Any speed reduction is stated to last no more than one day.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗

NexKit does not sell eSIMs. Source links on this page are unpaid citations. A separately labelled Saily checkout link may earn commission and never changes this comparison.

Three things that break a working hotspot

  • The APN was never setSome profiles need the APN entered by hand, and some need it specifically for tethering even when the phone itself is already online. If your phone has data and the tethered laptop does not, check this first.
  • The local network blocks it, not the providerYour plan roams onto a local operator, and that operator applies its own tethering rules on top of your provider's. A plan that permits tethering in its terms can still be blocked on a particular network.
  • You are past the daily allowanceA throttled connection often still loads a phone's own apps while failing entirely on a tethered laptop. That looks like a broken hotspot but is fair use doing its job.

Phone online but no data at all? Work through the no-internet checklist.

Need a plan that shares data with a laptop?

No verified plans or prices are available for this guide yet. Check current options and prices directly with providers.

Check provider options
How NexKit checked this

Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.

Read the full review methodology

Where to go from here

Next step

Check the tethering policy before you buy, then confirm the current price with the provider.

Narrow it down by tripSet your destination and trip details to see provider matches and any evidence gaps.