Official device and VPN scope
Saily's China destination page says its China eSIM does not require a VPN
Saily says a China eSIM requires an eSIM-compatible device and notes that many mainland-produced or sold devices do not support eSIM

No verified purchasable plan for China yet
NexKit has not verified a plan, price or availability for China to the standard required to recommend one, so none is shown and no other plans are listed. What is verified is what each provider publishes about fair use, tethering, network and activation here — with the source page and the date behind every figure.
For most destinations the interesting questions are price and allowance. For mainland China the decisive question is how the service behaves on the network — and that is the question providers are least likely to answer in writing. This page records what each provider publishes and, just as importantly, what it does not.
For mainland China, routing disclosure and pre-travel setup matter more than an unsourced claim that familiar services will work. If the provider does not publish the routing answer, treat it as unknown.
Prepare essential apps and offline addresses before travel; do not depend on an unverified routing claim.
Ask the provider directly about required services and keep a separately approved fallback.
Compare a regional option only after confirming it explicitly includes mainland China and the required routing behaviour.
Each cell is what the provider publishes, linked to the page it came from. Empty cells would be dishonest here, so a gap is labelled as a gap.
| What the provider publishes | AiraloUnlimited data packages | HolaflyUnlimited data eSIMs |
|---|---|---|
| Network operator named for China |
Applies to: Airalo's China product page only Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “China Unicom” | Unknown NexKit has not verified any China network detail for this provider. Applies to: Holafly in China Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Network generation stated | Not stated in the pages we checked The China product page does not state the network generation. Applies to: Airalo's China product page only Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. Pages we checked (1) | Unknown Not verified by NexKit. Applies to: Holafly in China Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Where traffic reaches the internet | Not stated in the pages we checked The China product page does not state where traffic reaches the internet, or whether any additional software is needed for services that are restricted inside mainland China. Applies to: Airalo's China product page only Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. Pages we checked (1) | Unknown Not verified by NexKit. Applies to: Holafly in China Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Fair use on unlimited plans |
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day” | Not stated in the pages we checked Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.” |
| Tethering |
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.” | Not stated in the pages we checked Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.” |
| When validity starts |
Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.” | Unknown NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
| Calls and SMS |
Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗ “Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM” | Unknown NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour. Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source. |
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo's China product page only
“China Unicom”
Holafly
NexKit has not verified any China network detail for this provider.
Applies to: Holafly in China
Airalo
Not stated in the pages we checked
The China product page does not state the network generation.
Applies to: Airalo's China product page only
Holafly
Not verified by NexKit.
Applies to: Holafly in China
Airalo
Not stated in the pages we checked
The China product page does not state where traffic reaches the internet, or whether any additional software is needed for services that are restricted inside mainland China.
Applies to: Airalo's China product page only
Holafly
Not verified by NexKit.
Applies to: Holafly in China
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”
Holafly
Not stated in the pages we checked
Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”
Holafly
Not stated in the pages we checked
Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package
“The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.”
Holafly
NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
Airalo
Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts
“Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM”
Holafly
NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour.
Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages
A public destination page proves only that the provider listed this destination when NexKit checked it. It does not prove a particular plan, price, allowance or checkout state is live now.
Saily-specific China context
Saily’s China page says its China eSIM does not require a VPN. A VPN and an eSIM answer different questions: the eSIM provides the mobile-data connection, while a VPN or other routing tool concerns how traffic is handled. The provider statement does not guarantee that every website, app, account or service will be reachable.
Saily's China destination page says its China eSIM does not require a VPN
Saily says a China eSIM requires an eSIM-compatible device and notes that many mainland-produced or sold devices do not support eSIM
NexKit has successfully used Saily Phone Number in mainland China. This is one scoped observation with incomplete historical device and network metadata, not a guarantee for every city, network, device, account or service.
Saily's China destination page says its China eSIM does not require a VPN. That is the provider's product-page statement, not a guarantee that every website, app, account or network path will work.
NexKit has successfully used Saily Phone Number in mainland China. This remains one scoped NexKit observation with incomplete historical device and network metadata, not a universal guarantee.
Confirm that the actual device supports eSIM, install the profile and save support instructions before travel. Keep essential addresses and travel information available offline, and prepare a separate fallback if connectivity is mission-critical.
See what each provider publishes about China, then confirm details with the provider before you travel. NexKit has not yet verified purchasable plans or prices for China, so this page does not list any. It compares published policy only. Source links above are citations, not affiliate links.
Provider checkout option
Labelled affiliate linksThis is separate from the evidence table above. It is not a plan recommendation, price comparison, rating or availability claim, and commission does not affect editorial order.
Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a GigSky plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.
Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.
View current options at GigSkyProvider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a Saily plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.
Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.
View current options at SailyNo. A destination listing proves that the provider advertises a China product, not where traffic exits or which services will be reachable.
Start from your own recent usage and add headroom for translation, maps and business tools. Download essential material before travel and verify any fair-use limit.
No. NexKit does not sell eSIMs or take payment. Its Saily link is a labelled provider-level affiliate handoff; check the provider's current China plans before buying.
Recorded rather than quietly omitted, so their absence is visible.
Why this destination: Existing real editorial route, a distinct connectivity decision, and verified public China destination page from the provider. Existing traffic is NOT_VERIFIED.
Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.
Read the full review methodologyWhere to go from here
See what each provider publishes about China, then confirm details with the provider before you travel.