Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Destinations

Destination dossier

Japan eSIM plans: compare networks, data and hotspot rules

A stone path through a tunnel of orange torii gates
Fushimi Inari, Kyoto · Photo: David Emrich / Unsplash

Japan coverage is good almost everywhere in the major cities, so the provider you pick rarely matters there. It starts to matter once an itinerary includes mountains, islands and smaller towns, because that depends on which carrier the plan actually runs on — a fact most sellers do not put on the page.

Last reviewed 29 August 2026Every figure links to the provider page it came from

What to decide before checkout

Choose by the named underlying network and your itinerary before looking at headline allowance. City-only trips are a different coverage decision from rural Hokkaido, islands or mountain routes.

Check these first

  • Which network operator the plan rides, because rural coverage differs between Japanese carriers
  • Whether an unlimited plan has a daily high-speed allowance, and what the speed drops to
  • Whether tethering shares the main allowance or gets a smaller separate one
  • Whether validity starts when you install the eSIM or when it first connects in Japan

Which traveller are you?

  • City break

    Prioritise simple setup and enough data for maps, translation and bookings.

  • Rail itinerary

    Check the named carrier and offline-map fallback for long intercity days.

  • Rural or island trip

    Treat provider network disclosure as more important than a small price difference.

Provider by provider

Each cell is what the provider publishes, linked to the page it came from. Empty cells would be dishonest here, so a gap is labelled as a gap.

Network operator named for Japan

Airalo

  • Softbank

Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Softbank”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not verified any Japan network detail for this provider.

Applies to: Holafly in Japan

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Network generation stated

Airalo

Not stated in the pages we checked

The Japan product page names the network but does not state whether 5G is included.

Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.
Pages we checked (1)

Holafly

Unknown

Not verified by NexKit.

Applies to: Holafly in Japan

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Where traffic reaches the internet

Airalo

Not stated in the pages we checked

Not stated on the Japan product page. Routing is not normally a consideration in Japan.

Applies to: Airalo's Japan product page only

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.
Pages we checked (1)

Holafly

Unknown

Not verified by NexKit.

Applies to: Holafly in Japan

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Fair use on unlimited plans

Airalo

  • 3 GB/day at full speed
  • Then up to 1 Mbps
  • Resets daily
  • The daily allowance resets 24 hours from the time the eSIM was activated, not at local midnight.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Pages we checked (3)

Tethering

Airalo

  • Tethering allowed
  • Shares the main allowance rather than a separate cap
  • Hotspot traffic counts against the same daily high-speed allowance. No separate tethering cap and no stated device limit.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Pages we checked (3)

When validity starts

Airalo

  • Depends on the package. Most start when the eSIM first connects to a supported network in its coverage area; some start at installation. Airalo publishes the policy per package before purchase.

Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Calls and SMS

Airalo

  • Data-only packages cannot send SMS or place calls. Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts; the package type is shown before purchase.

Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Provider availability evidence

A public destination page proves only that the provider listed this destination when NexKit checked it. It does not prove a particular plan, price, allowance or checkout state is live now.

Saily-specific Japan context

Use the named network as one input, not a universal winner

Saily's Japan page names local network partners including KDDI and SoftBank and describes 4G/LTE and 5G where available Saily's Japan page says coverage can be patchier in remote areas such as rural Hokkaido and the Japanese Alps NexKit has no independent or community measurement here that supports a universal best-provider conclusion.

Urban

City and rail itineraries

Check the current destination plan, setup instructions and fair-use terms. For heavy use, read the exact Unlimited allowance rather than relying on the label.

Check coverage

Rural, island or mountain routes

Keep offline maps and compare alternatives. Provider-published partner names do not replace route-specific testing or guarantee uniform rural performance.

Which networks does Saily name for Japan?

Saily's Japan page names local partners including KDDI and SoftBank and describes 4G/LTE and 5G where available. This is provider-published network information, not an independent speed test.

Is Saily the best eSIM for Japan?

NexKit does not make a universal best-provider claim. Compare the named network, itinerary, fair-use terms, hotspot policy and alternatives, especially for rural Hokkaido, the Japanese Alps, islands or other remote routes.

Does Saily Unlimited matter for a Japan trip?

It can matter for heavy-data travel, but Saily's current Japan page describes 5 GB per day at full speed and up to 1 Mbps afterward. Check the current destination page and your expected use before choosing it.

Read the destination-specific Saily Unlimited explanation

Data and setup

How much data?

  • Use your phone's recent mobile-data history as the baseline, then scale it to the trip length instead of trusting a generic GB rule.
  • Download maps, tickets and media on Wi-Fi before departure if you want a smaller allowance.
  • Video, cloud backup and laptop tethering change the answer most. If any are essential, check the plan's fair-use and hotspot terms before buying.

Setup guidance

  1. Install while you still have reliable Wi-Fi and confirm the device is unlocked and eSIM-compatible.
  2. Keep the home SIM available for messages if needed, but disable home-line data roaming.
  3. Save the provider's installation instructions offline before leaving the airport Wi-Fi.

Check the current plan with a provider

See what each provider publishes about Japan, then check the current price with the provider. No fresh Japan plan snapshot is available right now, so this page does not show stale prices. It continues to compare published policy only until new evidence is recorded. Source links above are citations, not affiliate links.

Provider checkout option

Labelled affiliate links

View current provider options for Japan

This is separate from the evidence table above. It is not a plan recommendation, price comparison, rating or availability claim, and commission does not affect editorial order.

aloSIM

Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a aloSIM plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.

Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.

View current options at aloSIM

GigSky

Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a GigSky plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.

Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.

View current options at GigSky

Saily

Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a Saily plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.

Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.

View current options at Saily

Frequently asked questions

What is the best eSIM for Japan?

There is no evidence-backed universal winner. Match the named network, activation method, fair-use policy and hotspot rules to your itinerary, then verify the current plan with the provider.

How much data should I get for Japan?

Use your recent phone data history, scale it to the trip, and add headroom for maps, translation and bookings. Video and hotspot use require a separate fair-use check.

Can I buy Saily for Japan through NexKit?

No. NexKit is not a reseller. Its labelled Saily link is a provider-level affiliate handoff; Saily remains the seller and current plan details must be checked there.

Providers we could not verify

Recorded rather than quietly omitted, so their absence is visible.

  • Sailysaily.com and support.saily.com returned HTTP 403 to NexKit's verification request, so no policy fact could be read from an official source. Third-party figures exist but are not an acceptable source under the editorial policy.Unknown

Why this destination: Existing real editorial route, explicit high-purchase-intent brief, and verified public Japan destination page from the provider. Existing traffic is NOT_VERIFIED.

How NexKit checked this

Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.

Read the full review methodology

Where to go from here

Next step

See what each provider publishes about Japan, then check the current price with the provider.

Narrow it down by tripSet your destination and trip details to see provider matches and any evidence gaps.