Skip to content
  1. Home
  2. Destinations

Destination dossier

USA eSIM: choose for the route, not the headline

The Manhattan Bridge framed by red-brick buildings on a DUMBO street
DUMBO, New York · Photo: Redd Francisco / Unsplash

Best match

Plans not verified

No verified purchasable plan for United States yet

NexKit has not verified a plan, price or availability for United States to the standard required to recommend one, so none is shown and no other plans are listed. What is verified is what each provider publishes about fair use, tethering, network and activation here — with the source page and the date behind every figure.

A United States eSIM decision depends on where the trip goes. A city break, a multi-state road trip and a laptop-dependent work stay need different evidence, especially the underlying network and hotspot policy.

Last reviewed 29 August 2026Every figure links to the provider page it came from

What to decide before checkout

A United States trip can cross very different network conditions. Match the provider's named network and hotspot policy to the states and rural areas in the itinerary instead of treating nationwide availability as uniform coverage.

Check these first

  • Which underlying network the selected product uses along the actual route
  • Whether hotspot use is permitted and shares the headline allowance
  • Whether the plan is data-only or includes a separate calls and texts product
  • Whether installation and activation can be completed before departure

Which traveller are you?

  • One-city visit

    Prioritise setup simplicity and your normal maps, ride-share and messaging use.

  • Road trip

    Ask which underlying network the selected plan uses along the actual route.

  • Work and hotspot

    Verify tethering and fair-use limits before relying on the eSIM for a laptop.

Provider by provider

Each cell is what the provider publishes, linked to the page it came from. Empty cells would be dishonest here, so a gap is labelled as a gap.

Network operator named for United States

Airalo

  • T-Mobile

Applies to: Airalo's United States product page only

Checked Aug 29, 2026. Verified Aug 29, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“T-Mobile”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not verified any United States network detail for this provider.

Applies to: Holafly in United States

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Network generation stated

Airalo

Not stated in the pages we checked

The United States product page names a primary network but does not state a network generation for that displayed option.

Applies to: Airalo's United States product page only

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.
Pages we checked (1)

Holafly

Unknown

Not verified by NexKit.

Applies to: Holafly in United States

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Where traffic reaches the internet

Airalo

Not stated in the pages we checked

The United States product page does not state where traffic reaches the internet.

Applies to: Airalo's United States product page only

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.
Pages we checked (1)

Holafly

Unknown

Not verified by NexKit.

Applies to: Holafly in United States

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Fair use on unlimited plans

Airalo

  • 3 GB/day at full speed
  • Then up to 1 Mbps
  • Resets daily
  • The daily allowance resets 24 hours from the time the eSIM was activated, not at local midnight.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“when you use more than 3GB in a day, we'll slow down (or “throttle”) your internet speed to 1 Mbps for the rest of that day”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that a fair use policy may apply and that any speed reduction lasts no more than one day, but none of the three pages NexKit checked states a high-speed threshold or a throttled speed. Holafly directs users to per-destination Technical Specs, which NexKit has not audited destination by destination.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Some operators have a Fair Usage Policy (FUP) that may reduce speeds after you reach a certain high-speed data limit, particularly during periods of high network traffic.”
Pages we checked (3)

Tethering

Airalo

  • Tethering allowed
  • Shares the main allowance rather than a separate cap
  • Hotspot traffic counts against the same daily high-speed allowance. No separate tethering cap and no stated device limit.

Applies to: Airalo unlimited data packages only — not Airalo's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“There is no limit on tethering or the number of devices you connect.”

Holafly

Not stated in the pages we checked

Holafly states that hotspot use is limited but publishes no allowance on the three pages NexKit checked. It directs users to a per-destination Technical Specs section instead.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“the hotspot feature is not unlimited to preserve network integrity. We recommend checking the available GB for hotspot use in the Technical Specs section for your destination.”
Pages we checked (3)

When validity starts

Airalo

  • Depends on the package. Most start when the eSIM first connects to a supported network in its coverage area; some start at installation. Airalo publishes the policy per package before purchase.

Applies to: Airalo eSIM packages generally; the exact policy is stated per package

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“The validity period begins when an eSIM connects to a supported network in its coverage area.”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not checked Holafly's activation policy.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Calls and SMS

Airalo

  • Data-only packages cannot send SMS or place calls. Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts; the package type is shown before purchase.

Applies to: Airalo data-only packages; Airalo also sells packages that include calls and texts

Checked Aug 26, 2026. Verified Aug 26, 2026 against a provider source. Due for a recheck.Source ↗
“Telephony services like Texts(SMS) and calls are not possible using a Data-only eSIM”

Holafly

Unknown

NexKit has not checked Holafly's calls and SMS behaviour.

Applies to: Holafly unlimited data esims only — not Holafly's fixed-data packages

Not verified. NexKit has not verified this against a provider source.

Provider availability evidence

A public destination page proves only that the provider listed this destination when NexKit checked it. It does not prove a particular plan, price, allowance or checkout state is live now.

Data and setup

How much data?

  • Use your phone's recent mobile-data history as the baseline, then scale it to the trip length instead of trusting a generic GB rule.
  • Download maps, tickets and media on Wi-Fi before departure if you want a smaller allowance.
  • Video, cloud backup and laptop tethering change the answer most. If any are essential, check the plan's fair-use and hotspot terms before buying.

Setup guidance

  1. Install on Wi-Fi and confirm the travel line can be selected for data before departure.
  2. Keep offline maps for long driving legs where any mobile network can have gaps.
  3. Check calls and SMS separately; a data plan does not automatically replace a phone line.

Check the current plan with a provider

Match the underlying network and hotspot policy to your route, then verify the current plan with the provider. NexKit has not yet verified purchasable plans or prices for United States, so this page does not list any. It compares published policy only. Source links above are citations, not affiliate links.

Provider checkout option

Labelled affiliate links

View current provider options for United States

This is separate from the evidence table above. It is not a plan recommendation, price comparison, rating or availability claim, and commission does not affect editorial order.

GigSky

Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a GigSky plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.

Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.

View current options at GigSky

Saily

Provider-level option only. NexKit has not verified a Saily plan, price, rating or live checkout availability for this destination; confirm every product detail with the provider before buying.

Affiliate link. NexKit may earn a commission from a qualifying purchase. Commission does not change the comparison order.

View current options at Saily

Frequently asked questions

Which eSIM is best for a USA road trip?

The decisive fact is the underlying network along your route. NexKit has not verified enough live plan data to name a universal winner, so confirm the network before purchase.

Do I need hotspot support in the United States?

Only if another device will depend on the phone. If so, verify both whether tethering is allowed and whether it has a separate or throttled allowance.

Are the prices on the provider pages compared here?

No. NexKit has no authoritative live plan or price feed for either provider, so this page does not copy or rank changing retail prices.

Providers we could not verify

Recorded rather than quietly omitted, so their absence is visible.

  • Sailysaily.com and support.saily.com returned HTTP 403 to NexKit's verification request, so no policy fact could be read from an official source. Third-party figures exist but are not an acceptable source under the editorial policy.Unknown

Why this destination: Existing destination slug and fixture UX, explicit commercial relevance, and verified public United States destination page from the provider. Existing traffic is NOT_VERIFIED.

How NexKit checked this

Every figure on this page was read from the provider’s own terms, help centre or product page on the date shown, and links back to that page. Each fact also states its reach, so a policy read from one product family is never presented as covering everything a provider sells. Where a provider states a policy but publishes no number in the pages we checked, this page says so and lists what we checked. Source links are citations, not paid links. A separately labelled provider CTA may be an affiliate link; commission never changes the evidence, comparison order or recommendation method.

Read the full review methodology

Where to go from here

Next step

Match the underlying network and hotspot policy to your route, then verify the current plan with the provider.

Narrow it down by tripSet your destination and trip details to see provider matches and any evidence gaps.